WhatsApp new features

6
98 views

WhatsApp – the widely-used app used by Brummies for messaging – has introduced a brand-new feature.

The new update from the Facebook-owned platform is making headlines.

This time around, the latest in a raft of new additions over the recent weeks and months sees users able to watch shared videos in a small window in the main chat client.

That means you can carry on chatting with friends while enjoying videos they send!

Most users should see the picture-in-picture feature immediately, as it was a server-side update.

If you can’t see videos in a picture-in-picture window then you may need to manually update WhatsApp.

WhatsApp logo
WhatsApp logo

Last month’s update now allowa users of the popular platform to private message while IN a group chat.

Yes, you read that right.

It means you’ll be able to reply to specific group members – keeping your message invisible to everyone else.

The new feature was spotted by WABetaInfo, who report WhatsApp has enabled a new feature called “Reply Privately” in the beta version of the app.

“As the name suggests, it allows you to privately reply to a message received in a group,” the site explains.

WhatsApp is a popular app among Brummies, capable of bringing together friendship groups, exchanging photos with family and relaying information for work.

Recently, Whatsapp announced that a system update that could see all your chats, pictures, videos and audio files be deleted.

The changes are part of a deal between Google and Whatsapp, with Google agreeing users can backup their accounts and messages on their Drive.

However, tech site ZDNet reports that while the Google Drive backups may be free for users, communication records will not be protected in the same way.

This is poles apart to Whatsapp’s data protection, which features the highest levels of end-to-end encryption.

Whatsapp said: “Media and messages you back up aren’t protected by WhatsApp end-to-end encryption while in Google Drive.”

And for those who value their privacy, this update could see many users looking to other messaging apps.